History of our Club


The oldest chartered club in district 5130, the Rotary Club of Napa was first chartered in 1920, sponsored by the Rotary Club of Oakland. From its original membership of 24 men, the club now has a membership of 102 men and women.

The club meets for lunch each Wednesday at 12:00 at the Napa Elk’s Lodge located at 2840 Soscol Ave. in Napa. Feel free to visit.

The Rotary Club of Napa has dedicated itself to the goals of Rotary International which includes the worldwide eradication of Polio.

Rotary International’s President for 2015-2016 is K.R. Ravindran of Colombo, Sri Lanka. President Ravindran chose Be a Gift to the World as his theme. Ravindran urges Rotary members to give the gifts of time, talent, and knowledge to improve lives in communities across the globe. “Through Rotary, we can take these gifts and make a genuine difference in the lives of others and in our world.”

This year’s board has adopted the following goals towards this theme as well as several that will enhance future operations of the club. The goals are:

  • Increase membership
  • Support the Pathway Home project at the Yountville Veterans Home–a first-of-its-kind program designed to assist returning veterans with post traumatic stress disorder
  • Grow the Scholarship Endowment Fund
  • Support Interact at New Tech High School
  • Continue Festival of Brotherhood as an International Project
  • Continue local projects
  • Continue the Cycle 4 Sight Rotary Ride for Veterans Event
  • Be a 100% sustaining member club ($100 per member to Foundation per year)
  • Have Fun! We believe that we can enjoy fun and fellowship while accomplishing the above goals.

Past Presidents:

YEAR First Last
1920 J. Edgar Beard
1921 Earl R. Raymond
1922 Henry Brown
1923 John Cochrane
1924 Otto Schulze
1925 Willliam Keig
1926 John Mount
1928 Albert Streblow
1929 George Strong
1930 Derrell Beard
1931 Charles Trower
1932 Carl Johnson
1933 Glen Peterson
1934 Percy Quien
1935 George Gardner
1936 Irving Charlsworth
1937 Roy Patrick
1938 Ralph Trower
1939 William Gaffney
1940 Charles Moffitt
1941 Lathrop Brown
1942 Mark Stanton
1943 Harry McPherson
1944 Ted Werner
1945 Sewell Parker
1946 Paul Watson
1947 Bill Ross
1948 George Wyllie
1949 Ed Chaix
1950 Richard Whitmore
1951 Drummond Harris
1952 William L. Blanckenburg
1953 Richard Pierce
1954 Vernon VanSant
1955 Thomas Kongsgaard
1956 Henry Luhmann
1957 James Imrie
1958 Walter J. Fogarty Sr.
1959 William Dodd
1960 Clayton A. Long
1961 John N. Fiske
1962 Robert E. Barwick
1963 William C. Wright
1964 Houghton Gifford
1965 Robert H. Cudaback
1966 W.George Wolfe
1967 Glen Clegg
1968 Stuart MacVitie
1969 Ed Barwick
1970 Ed Rossmiller
1971 Harrell Miller
1972 Carlo Hojsgaard
1973 Augie Carrion
1974 Don Macky
1975 Tom Young
1976 J.C. Pickett
1977 Bill Jeffries
1978 George Clark
1979 John Cochrane
1980 Jim Fogarty
1981 John Zimmerman
1982 Jim Ford
1983 Phil Champlin
1984 Mike Bethard
1985 Dean Donaldson
1986 Bob Hansen
1987 Russ Barker
1988 Rod Gale
1989 Howard Erickson
1990 Steve Bardessono
1991 Joe Keebler
1992 Charles Harper
1993 Dick Lonergan
1994 Bob Mullikin
1995 Jerry Medlin
1996 Dorothy Lind
1997 Chris Piper
1998 Larry Wolfe
1999 Craig Templeton
2000 Jill Barwick
2001 Kent Williams
2002 Tom Mills
2003 Tom Nelson
2004 Gene Kelly
2005 Mike Loughran
2006 Charles DeLormier
2007 Steve Orndorf
2008 Gary Rose
2009 Bruce McCall
2010 Tim Cooney
2011 Jim Riley
2012 Kent Gardella
2013 Barbara Nemko
2014 Dale Carriker
2015 Karen Hunt


Club Leaders
Club Events
District Events
Veterans Projects and Events
Update this with your HTML/JS